The CIS Class Help Center is an academic resource for undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in CIS courses.  Run by the Computer Information Systems department, the CIS Class Help Center offers assistance with course material and assignments.

The CIS Class Help Center is staffed by graduate students and seniors who are nearing completion of their CIS degrees. Additionally, many of our staff members have professional experience in programming, networking and other IT specializations.

Whether you’ve got a bug you just cannot solve, you’re not sure what Linux scripting is all about, or you’re interested in discussing your database design with someone, contact us. We look forward to working with you!

In line with the CSU Community response to the COVID-19 outbreak, we will operate the CIS Help Center remotely.  Please follow the protocol below, so that we may serve you in the quickest and most efficient way possible.
  1. E-mail your question to and include:
    1. Your name, CSU email address, and course for which you need help
    2. Clearly state your question and describe your problem as completely as possible
    3. Include details (for example, the code you’ve written so far)
    4. If applicable, include a screen shot of your issue or indicate the code segment/line where you are stuck
  2. Be prepared to work with the Help Desk via Microsoft Teams.  Teams is available via e-Lab or you can download it to your computer from Office 365. 
    1. First, reach out via email to try and solve your issue
    2. If more help is required, your helper will arrange a Teams meeting to discuss your issue and share screens if needed.
    3. Your CIS Help Center Team member will send you an email with a link to join a live voice/video conference via Microsoft Teams
    4. Be sure your microphone is operational
    5. If Teams doesn’t work for you, Skype, Google Hangouts or Zoom could be potential alternatives


Fall 2020 Help Desk Hours 

11:00 AM to 1:00 PM - Niralee Nanda
1:00 PM to 3:00 PM – Achyuth Balanthrapu
3:00 PM to 5:00 PM – Prithika Kotte
3:00 PM to 5:00 PM – Karthik Palusa

9:00 AM to 11:00 AM – Karthik Palusa
2:00 PM to 4:00 PM – Aniket Kulkarni

11:00 AM to 12:00 PM – Palka Dehury
12:00 PM to 3:00 PM – Achyuth Balanthrapu
3:00 PM to 5:00 PM – Karthik Palusa

9:00 AM to 11:00 AM – Karthik Palusa
1:00 PM to 3:00 PM – Amanda MacGregor

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM – Palka Dehury
12:00 PM to 2:00 PM – Santosh Kumar Challa